» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

Legacy Family Tree Reviews

Legacy Family Tree image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 4 reviews)

Category: Genealogy Software (AKA Family Tree Software)
Website: http://www.legacyfamilytree.com



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 

« Back to all the Legacy Family Tree User Reviews


Think thrice before buying Legacy
06 February 2013
Reviewer: Peter Rezende from Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago

166 of 315 people found this review helpful

Features:
Photo and File Management:
Web Integration:
Ease of Use:
Ease of Installation:
Customer Support:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:


The features in Legacy are about average for what you'd expect of a family tree program but there're many more user friendly programs on the market. I use Legacg, FTM, FTB, PAF and CGR depending on what I want to do and which reports I want to run.

But would you trust your family tree data, data that has been collected after years of painstaking research, to a program that does not correctly export to a Gedcom?

Legacy is more concerned with developing new features rather than fixing the bugs in their current version. Below is correspondence with their "support" department when I discovered a bug in the system..a bug they claim to have known about and fixed in Oct 2012 but the fix has not been released as at 6 Feb 2013..

Date: Tue, 5 Feb 2013
Subject: Legacy Problem Report
From: [email protected]
To: [email protected]

I know exactly what happens.

I'm going to close this discussion. There is nothing more to add. We just have to wait for the programmers to release the next update.

Sincerely,

Sherry
Technical Support

From: Peter Rezende
Sent: Tue, 05 Feb 2013
To: Legacg Technical Support
Subject: RE:Legacy Problem Report

Turn the double dating option off, do not enter any double dates in legacy, export the file from Legacy to a gedcom, import that gedcom into PAF and let me know what happens. I use Legacy, PAF, FTM, FTB and CGR..not RM.
Regards
Peter Rezende

Date: Tue, 5 Feb 2013
Subject:Legacy Problem Report
From: [email protected]
To: [email protected]

My double date as entered in Legacy is 3 Feb 1749/50 and that's what shows in PAF and RootsMagic.


Sincerely,

Sherry
Technical Support

From: Peter Rezende
Sent: Tue, 05 Feb 2013
To: Legacg Technical Support
Subject: RE:Legacy Problem Report

I am fully aware of our calender history and the switch from the Julian to the Gregorian calender. Pray tell, when you " did a test and the file imported perfectly into PAF, albeit with the acceptable double dates " what were those 'acceptable' double dates?

Regards
Peter Rezende

Date: Tue, 5 Feb 2013
Subject:Legacy Problem Report
From: [email protected]
To: [email protected]

It's *not* a corruption. If you read what I wrote about Double Dating as well as the article on Calendar History, it's an accepted way of formatting dates and it should be used to avoid confusion during the change in calendars.
I just did a test and the file imported perfectly into PAF, albeit with the acceptable double dates.

Sincerely,
Sherry
Technical Support

From: Peter Rezende
Sent: Tue, 05 Feb 2013
To: Legacg Technical Support
Subject: RE:Legacy Problem Report

Sherry I might be willing to accept the inconvenience of having to reset the double dating option anytime I create a Gedcom but the Exported Gedcom is incorrect and cannot be used in any other program..FTM, PAF Or Complete Genealogy Reporter because of the corrupted data. Someone at Millennia MUST have an answer.
Regards
Peter Rezende

Date: Tue, 5 Feb 2013
Subject:Legacy Problem Report
From: [email protected]
To: [email protected]

Elmo,
We are never told in advance when a build is going to be released. Please be patient and follow the easy step to reset the option for double dating after creating a gedcom.
Sincerely,
Sherry
Technical Support

Date: Wed, 16 Jan 2013
Subject:Legacy Problem Report
From: [email protected]
To: [email protected]

Peter,
I regret to tell you there isn't a way to go back.
Sincerely,
Jim
Technical Support

From: Peter Rezende
Sent: Wed, 16 Jan 2013
To: Legacg Technical Support
Subject: RE:Legacy Problem Report
Jim,
Then how can I go back to the previous build version? I was not experiencing any problems until the last update.
It is somewhat disconcerting using a program that cannot correctly export to a gedcom file...more so, to be made aware that the problem has been fixed since October but not yet released and no indication as to when it will be released.I know that every program ( FTM, PAF, Legacy etc ) each has its own quirks but this bug fundamentally changes the data.
Please advise.
Regards
Peter

Date: Tue, 15 Jan 2013
Subject: Legacy Problem Report
From: [email protected]
To: [email protected]

Peter,
No, the updates occur at irregular intervals and not by a set schedule. The last one was 14 Sep 2013.
Sincerely,
Jim
Technical Support

From: Peter Rezende
Sent: Tue, 15 Jan 2013
To: Legacg Technical Support
Subject: RE:Legacy Problem Report

Thanks Jim. Any idea as to how soon the fix will be released?
Regards Peter

Date: Tue, 11 Dec 2012
Subject: Legacy Problem Report
From:[email protected]
To: [email protected]

Peter,
This is bug number 4232. It was fixed in October. Watch for the next free update which will have the fix.
Sincerely,
Jim
Technical Support

In summary, I would not recommend Legacy Family Tree to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No

« Back to all the Legacy Family Tree User Reviews


Comments on this Review
comments powered by Disqus

 





» Click here to visit LegacyFamilyTree.com

or

« Back to the rest of our Genealogy Software Reviews