» Select Another Category of Reviews
 

Family Tree Builder (by My Heritage) Reviews

Family Tree Builder (by My Heritage) image

 
Editor's Overall Rating:
Average User Rating:
(based on 10 reviews)

Category: Genealogy Software (AKA Family Tree Software)
Website: http://www.myheritage.com/family-tree-builder



Editor's Review Costs & Features Videos User Reviews
 
Average User Rating:
(3.4 Stars) based on 10 reviews


Already tried it? Write a Review

Average User Star Ratings:

Features:
Photo and File Management:
Web Integration:
Ease of Use:
Ease of Installation:
Customer Support:
Value for Money:
Overall Star Rating:

Users' Overall Ratings Distribution:

5 Stars
5 Reviews
4 Stars
0 Reviews
3 Stars
2 Reviews
2 Stars
0 Reviews
1 Star
3 Reviews

60% of Users Recommend it



10 REVIEWS AVAILABLE
PAGE 1: Displaying Reviews 1 - 10 of 10
My heritage family tyree builder 8.0
16 February 2016
Reviewer: Ace 66 from United Kingdom

93 of 165 people found this review helpful

I have been a ftb user for a number of years now I can honestly say I have not really had many problems using either the site or ftb. my big problem was syncing to web site with ftb after I upgraded to windows 10 now the problem is fixed yes it took a while to sort but the support staff never gave up and were only happy when I was happy the problem was fixed they kept me up to date with any fixes to try.
yes I would advise anyone to use this software and the company its very easy and intuitive to use even for first time users . very quick to install and get up and running.

a suggestion to support can you please make the duplicate finder find duplicates and merge them into one for example 80-100% so if a mistake is made where 2 complete branches were added containing the same people merge them all into one branch containing the different names IE if the branches had 2 john smiths married to Jane smith they would merge into one branch containing 1 john smith and 1 Jane smith.

In summary, I would recommend Family Tree Builder (by My Heritage) to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


My Heritage & My Heritage Tree Builder
23 June 2014
Reviewer: Annette Suhr Thors√łe from Copenhagen, Denmark

113 of 209 people found this review helpful

Many thanks to the support team for information concerning my change of computer. It turned out to be piece of cake for me.

I have now been a user for app. 4 yrs. My Heritage suits me perfect. And due to Smart Matches I have got in contact with Family in New Zealand, Australia, Canada and naturally here in Denmark. I have received valuable information and am saved for many, many hours of work.

In summary, I would recommend Family Tree Builder (by My Heritage) to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Family Tree Buider is easy to use
29 May 2014
Reviewer: Rogerio Porto Breier from Gravatai, RS, Brazil

113 of 208 people found this review helpful

I'm using FTB program and I think it's easy and interactive. I only had a little problem to sincronize my family tree with a family site at My Heritage, but it's solved with some e-mails between me and MyHeritage support. Now my family tree is ok.

In summary, I would recommend Family Tree Builder (by My Heritage) to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


My Heritage Family Tree Builder makes bad GEDCOM files
09 October 2013
Reviewer: Tim from San Diego, CA

151 of 282 people found this review helpful

I tried My Heritage Family Tree Builder and made a GEDCOM file that I imported into PAF. I got a whole long list of _UID errors and a bunch of marriages of unknown people. So I tried importing it into another popular program, Legacy Family Tree. Same problems there. I say don't waste your time with My Heritage Family Tree Builder. It makes really weird GEDCOM files that don't seem to import well into the few other programs I tried them on.

In summary, I would not recommend Family Tree Builder (by My Heritage) to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Has EXCEL import and export
03 February 2013
Reviewer: Austpark from Australia

151 of 278 people found this review helpful

I obtained FTB as a freebie from of the computer magazines a number of years ago. It started me in Family History, and I have been very happy with the free version. I find the EXCEL import and export feature to be its greatest asset. I have searched as far as I can without trying them, other programs and they do not have this feature.

I have had no problem with the numbers limit. I have over 3000 people in it. I do not publish to the web server as I am online with another company.
It does irritate me that each time I open it, it opens the website.

I do recommend it to others.

In summary, I would recommend Family Tree Builder (by My Heritage) to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Name limit Only applies to server site
13 November 2012
Reviewer: Dcoop from Gatesville, Tx, USA

165 of 270 people found this review helpful

I was confused at first when I reached the magic number, I think 250, discovered it ONLY applies to PUBLISHING, you can still add names for storage on your own hard drive at home. If you wish to share further data, you should just have to get a copy of your database file directly to the family member you wish to share with, then they should only have to copy and paste the file in the folder labeled 'Database' it's listed as a filetype Compressed GEDCOM file. I do it frequently when I've made updates at home and wish to continue updates at in my spare time at work, you just have to install the Family Tree Builder program on the remote site and replace the existing datafile with the one with the latest changes, you still can't add to the server site file but you can still build your family tree and share with select others. You still get 'Smart Match' notifications on what's on the original 250 names on the server but not on what is stored off-site. You still have access to all the free report and chart generation features on your 'expanded database'.

In summary, I would recommend Family Tree Builder (by My Heritage) to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


My Heritage Family Tree Builder
06 September 2011
Reviewer: Dci33 from Holon, Israel

205 of 368 people found this review helpful

The program is good but it is not free as advertised. I have been using it for several years believing that it is free as stated, I spent sometime building my family tree, I put in a lot of information and one day I find myself blocked, with a note saying that I have reached the maximum entries of 250 and I have to subscribe to Premium and pay either monthly or buy the program.

I felt frustrated, I didn't like the way these guys work. If it is not free, and is limited why they didn't say so from the start, why put users to no alternative either buy or quit. I don't like this kind of dealing, and something must be done about it. Therefore I don't recommend it

In summary, I would not recommend Family Tree Builder (by My Heritage) to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Beware of your search engine being hijacked!
17 August 2011
Reviewer: Tc from fl

206 of 353 people found this review helpful

Upon downloading the free software, I noticed that my search engine (google chrome) had been changed to heritage search. My home page had been changed to googe heritage search and nothing I tried put things back the way they were.
I uninstalled the program but no change. I changed my home page. No change. It took hours of playing and internet searches to get rid of the (spyware!). Beware of downloading this program.

There are many people out there that have had the same problem.

In summary, I would not recommend Family Tree Builder (by My Heritage) to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


My Heritage Family Tree Builder.
30 June 2011
Reviewer: Don Campbell from Ruidoso, New Mexico (USA)

180 of 342 people found this review helpful

The other review is absolutely right, in part. If you don't have a lot of family (I believe the free addition will handle up to 250 people) but after that the program does cost.

When I started researching my family I did not have any prior experience in genealogy. When I first started I had enough information that took me back to the late 1700's. Through My Heritage I have been able to trace my family back to approx. 940 AD. I have found an amazing amount of information about my ancestors. I've had more problems getting current family members to cooperate in getting me information than going back into time.

I definitately would recommend My Heritage to my friends. They have some really great features and I have had to use their tech support a few times and each time I have been completely satisfied with their help.

The most amazing thing is that I have been able to locate and contact current family members as well as distant cousins that I have never met before, which has help me piece together my family genealogy.

In summary, I would recommend Family Tree Builder (by My Heritage) to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Not as Advertised-My Heritage Family Tree Builder
18 January 2011
Reviewer: Easter from Canada

224 of 414 people found this review helpful

I have been using this software and it is good, in fact excellent. The problems is in the way they do business. It is anything but free. I had a GEDCOM file from Family tree maker and it downloaded seamlessly. However no sooner was the download completed I received a message that I was over the allotted limit for the free and the upgrade wasn't much. To upgrade to premium which supposedly gives you unlimited space is about $500.00 for 5 years. Hardly free!!
The worst part is that they contacted me to allow my family to join in. I gave them a few names to see what would happen and sure enough they will be asked to join. I think my emails got through in time but I will be discontinuing my "FREE" offer.

In summary, I would not recommend Family Tree Builder (by My Heritage) to a friend.



Was this review helpful?   Yes or No
Read Comments


Already tried it? Write a Review

 





» Click here to visit Family Tree Builder (by My Heritage)

or

« Back to the rest of our Genealogy Software Reviews







Genealogy Software from Amazon (US)


» More Genealogy Software from Amazon


Advertisements